Skip to content

Update: Conflict of Interest

February 2, 2017

It has come to my attention from several media contacts that they would like to do a story on the conflict of interest issue which I outlined below but they can’t because the Ethics Commissioner won’t verify that I indeed contacted them. I imagine that the EC is doing this to protect my confidentiality.  I appreciate that but unfortunately, without their verification it looks like I fabricated the contact and the content of our conversation.  Thanks to the wonders of technology I have a screen shot from my phone to prove that I wrote them an email asking for help with the issue and they responded 1 hour and 21 minutes later by by phoning me back.  Because there is nothing in writing to verify that they told me Trustee Kowalczyk was indeed in a conflict of interest, I am seeking additional opinions on the matter from lawyers who practice administrative law and professionals in the area of ethics and governance.  Perhaps once I get these opinions, the Ministry of Education which has jurisdiction over trustees, will take action.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

